Routines

This week and last week and the week before, we have been talking a lot about routines and finding the best way to get a task done. I love routines. I like having a plan for my day and checking things off my list and getting that shit done!!! It makes me feel so accomplished even if it’s just the little things.
So I started thinking how can I encourage this behavior in my children? First if all, I have boys which scan by nature be notoriously messy and if genetics get the best of them they will NOT be planners like my husband. But as babies they all quickly feel into a great schedule on their own and still thrive on a schedule no matter how loosey goosey it gets.
So I am thinking if developing simple routines for my 6 year old. Then I will tackle the 3 year old. The baby, well he still has a year or two to go before I get to him!
This week we are focusing in after school routines. Aiden has a good morning routine going. Get up, brush teeth, get dressed, pack back pack and grab a bite and we are out the door. After school it is unpack back pack(lunch box in the sink mainly) pick up bedroom, homework, reading time, and then fun fun fun!!!
I’m thinking we can go with this for a bit, don’t want to throw too much at him. I figure if we focus on one routine at a time we won’t forget the old routines when we learn the new ones! Do you follow routines? How does it work in your house?

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Routines

  1. Alaina says:

    Routines are the only way we stay sane with the Aubster. It can get a little annoying at times sticking to such a strict routine, but she is so much calmer with it.

Leave a Reply

