Sunday supper

Sunday’s are suppose to be a day of rest but it seems more often than not Sunday’s are a day of go go go! We always eithe eat a big breakfast or go out for breakfast. Then if daddy isn’t working then we run errands or have plans. If daddy is working then I have loads,literally, of piled up laundry clean and dirty to get to. This is also the day I meal plan for the week and try to make ahead whatever I can. And if we are running around everywhere I sometimes don’t have time to prep the big Sunday dinner I like to. To me Sundays mean family time and with that idea I always envision comfort food. But I am so busy or so tired from cleaning all day that the last thing I want to do is cook. I am Mexican so often comfort food to me is Mexican food. Here is a recipe for my favorite make ahead casserole of comfort Mexican food. I just made it for my family. Happy Sunday

Enchilada pie

2 lbs lean ground beef/turkey/chicken
1lg can of enchilada sauce medium heat
Shredded cheddar and Monterey Jack cheeses
1 can of olives sliced,optional
1 green onion, optional
Chili powder
1 heaping tablespoon of flour
1/2 c hot water
Corn tortillas

Cook meat and drain fat. While meat is cooking, heat enchilada sauce in large skillet. Add chili powder( I blend several different chili powders to make my own) approx. 1tbsp (add more for more heat) and the flour to a jar with lid. Add hot water and shake until mixed. Add to sauce and whisk. Turn to low and simmer until thickened. Tear 20-25 tortillas in half. How much you actually use will depend on size of casserole dish but I use a round dish with a lid and layer 4 torn tortillas per layer and I make 5 layers. I put a little sauce on the bottome of the dish then layer the tortillas. I tear one of the halves in half for the middle. Do it however you want. My mom leaves them whole. Then I put a layer of meat topped with both kinds of cheese. I continue until all meat is gone. I put a layer of tortillas over the final meat and cheese layer. Top that with sauce, sliced olives and sliced onion. Top with cheese and let cool before refrigerating.

This makes a lot for my family and we eat the leftovers for lunch throughout the week. It’s also great to make Sunday and use during the week when you are too busy to cook that night. Lastly you can freeze and make anytime.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

