Meatless monday: trying new things

My husband swears he doesn’t like pesto. He tells me every single time I mention it, my mom always made some pasta coated in pesto and I hated it. So I told him I was making pizza tonight for meatless Monday an instead made pesto Alfredo linguine with shrimp. He didn’t love it but he ate it, had seconds, and didn’t complain. I’m feeling pretty good about myself now:) here’s the recipe and out menu for the week.

Monday: pesto Alfredo with linguine and shrimp, cheesy garlic bread and watermelon for dessert.

Tuesday: grilled pizzas with Cesar salad

Wednesday: enchilada pie Spanish rice

Thursday: barbeque chicken, summer tortellini salad, green beans

Friday: artichoke chicken with roasted potatoes

Saturday: mommys night off

Sunday: family night at my moms

Pesto Alfredo linguine with shrimp

2cups of half and half
1lb of linguine
2tbsp butter
Pepper and salt to taste
1 1/2 c parmesan cheese shredded
1/2 c pesto
1 lb large shrimp peeled and deveined

Cook pasta according to package al dente drain and set aside

In a large skillet melt butter over med heat. Add half and half and season with a touch of salt and 1/2-1 tsp of pepper. Simmer for 5 minutes, remove from heat and stir in 1 c of Parmesan cheese. Stir and melt. Return to heat blend in pesto and cook until thickened. Add shrimp and mushrooms and cook 5 minutes. Toss in bowl with pasta and the rest of the cheese. Serve

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food, Meatless Monday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meatless monday: trying new things

  1. Jack says:

    Interesting, my girlfriend does a similar thing. She always tries to slip in some foods I don’t particularly like, aka mushrooms, olives, tofu. While I eat them, they are necessarily awesome. But it is fun to see how she tries to hide them :-).

    I have heard of the meatless monday idea. It is always good to get some meat out of the diet, we usually have no red meat but have turkey, chicken, or fish of some sort.

    Looking at the dinners, I am pretty jealous!

    • Haha yea us women can be sneaky! Sometimes I feel like I get in food ruts so I try to make something new or something I haven’t made in awhile at least 2-4 times a month. It can be hard luckily the pickiest eater in my house is my hubs and not the kids!

Leave a Reply

