Is that a cupcake in your coffee?

Yeaterday we had our regional open forum. It’s a day we get together and kinda party with the people from the office and other stores in our region. My region is basically central Cali east to west. We rarely get together because if the huge driving distance. Anyway, we had a blast and we get to ask the big bosses whatever we want. This year we had our version of Top Chef and we had to make a dish using our VIA ready brew coffee. I have used it a lot and well it is delicious. I posted some recipes earlier so be sure to check them out. Anyway I of course entered in the contest because i love to cook and love VIA! So I was inspired by a post from @caffeinated_mom. It was about her hostess cupcake inspired cupcake. So if you are like me then you have no clue what a hostess cupcake is because you have never had one. It’s a chocolate cupcake filled with creme with a chocolate glaze and white frosting on top. So I took her recipe for that but made the creme filling using Statbucks Via. Totally delicious. And even though I didn’t win, my boss and regional director loved them! So win win for me. Here is the recipe and when I make them again I will have to take pictures becase I forgot:( make these people so good!! Oh the blog with the original recipe is: http://thebestmomontheblock.blogspot.com/2009/07/hostess-inspired-cupcakes-great-cupcake.html

1 box of devils food or double chocolate fudge cake mix

Filling: 2 lg egg whites
1/4 tsp cream of tartar or 1/4 c of light corn syrup
1/2 c sugar
1 1/2 tsp of pure vanilla
2 tbsp of water
2 sticks of Starbucks Via any type will do

Ganache:
1/4 c of cream
4 oz semi-sweet chocolate finely chopped
1 tbsp of unsalted butter softened

Make cupcakes according to directions and let cool completely. I substitute mayonnaise for the oil it makes the cake super moist!

To make filling start a double boiler. In a bowl add egg whites sugar and cream of tartar. In a measuring cup add water and via and mix. Pour into bowl with sugar and eggs and beat 30 seconds. Put the bowl on the pot and beat on high until stiff peaks form, usually 10 minutes but can vary so pay attention. When peaks have formed take off if heat, add vanilla and beat another 2-3 minutes until cool.

To add filling to cupcakes I used the cone method which @caffeinated_mom used. Cut a cone shaped hole out of your cupcakes. I piped into my cupcakes using a baggie. Remove the cone part of the top of your cupcake and just put the top back on.

To make ganache heat cream in saucepan until steaming. Remove from heat and add chocolate. Let stand 5 minutes then mix in butter. Dip cupcakes or frost the tops, don’t be shy people. To finish I used a frosting tube from the grocery store to make a white frosting swirl on top.

Enjoy and check out @caffeinated_mom’s blog for many more great recipes!!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Coffee Talk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

