Weighty Issues

So I am fat. Let’s face it I can sit here all day and say I’m not or that I’m being too hard on myself I had 2 kids in 3 years, but who cares. In both situations I had lost 20 lbs by the time they were 2 mos old. Unfortunately I gained it all back once I came back to work. It is mostly because at home I eat a good solid breakfast and can eat around the same time everyday. At work it’s a crap shoot if I even get lunch let alone eat it at the same time everyday. What really kills me is that I rarely eat a good breakfast anymore. I get so burnt on oatmeal really fast that I end up eating crap. As much as I want my scone to be a balanced breakfast more often than not it isn’t. So this week I downloaded the LoseIt app. It seems to be similar to weightwatchers points system so I am trying it out. The hardest part is cooking food that the whole family can eat. I work and I work a lot so making several meals for dinner doesn’t work for me. So for meatless monday and menu planning monday here it goes. I can eat most of this just have to watch the bread and starchy sides.

Monday: Grilled Lemon Garlic Halibut with artichokes, rice pilaf, rolls

Tuesday: Turkey Meatloaf with twice baked potatoes with cauliflower in them and rolls

Wednesday: Pork chops with fideos and peas

Thursday: grilled chicken with couscous and roasted corn

Friday: Baked Shells Casserole

Saturday: moms night off

Sunday: Reubens with baked veggie chips

Garlica lemon grilled halibut:

1/4 c lemon juice
1 tbsp veg oil
1/4 tsp of salt and pepper
2 cloves of garlic, minced
4 halibut steaks
1/2 c chopped parsley
1 tbsp of grated lemon peel

Brush grill with oil, and heat. Mix ingredients except parsley and lemon peel in a shallow dish or ziplock bag. Place fish in dish/baggie turning to coat entire piece. Place in fridge and marinate at least 10 minutes. Grill fish 10-15 minutes turning once, brushing with marinade after turning. When done sprinkle parsley and zest on top and serve.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food, Meatless Monday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weighty Issues

  1. Heather Wilson says:

    You’re beautiful! Always have been! I wish you well in your goal to eating more healthily, though. I’m trying to do the same thing. I guess it starts with small changes. I have a great recipe for a breakfast “cookie” that is very healthy and super filling, so I don’t feel bad about it being a ‘grab n go’ kinda breakfast. You should try it out. (I use dried cranberries instead of raisins, cause I like them better 🙂 Here’s the recipe:
    Breakfast Cookies
    • 3/4 cup whole-wheat pastry flour
    • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt
    • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
    • 1/4 cup canola oil
    • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
    • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
    • 1 egg
    • 1/4 cup (1 small jar) strained carrot baby food
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    • 1/2 cup rolled oats
    • 1/2 cup bran cereal flakes
    • 1/3 cup raisins
    • 1/3 cup walnut pieces, lightly toasted in a dry skillet for 2 minutes, until fragrant and chopped
    Directions
    Place rack in center of oven and preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
    Whisk together flours, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt in a medium-sized bowl. Combine butter, oil and sugars in the bowl of a stand mixer and mix on high speed, scraping down sides if necessary, until sugars have dissolved and mixture is light in color, about 1 minute. Add egg, carrot puree and vanilla and beat an additional 30 seconds. Add flour mixture and beat an additional 30 seconds. Add oats, flakes, raisins and walnuts and mix over low speed just until incorporated. Dough will be slightly sticky and less cohesive than traditional cookie dough. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper. Using between 3 to 4 tablespoons of batter, form a ball and place on cookie sheet. Repeat with remaining batter, leaving about 3 inches between cookies. Wet hands and use palm of hand to flatten cookies until about 1/4-inch thick. Bake for 12 minutes, until cookies are fragrant but still soft. Let cookies cool slightly, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

    • Thanks! I’m totally trying that recipe! I am thinking abt going back to school and getting my AS in food science. Since having the boys I’m sooo into food and eating ealthy and teaching them proper nutrition. There is so much to learn and I’m having a great time learning.

Leave a Reply

