Pimp my birthday mom

I must admit I get caught up in the hoopla of kids birthday parties. Aidens first birthday was huge, like 50 people not including kids huge. He had a huge bounce house, a hot dog vendor/caterer, a sesame street set up, a hundred dollar replica sesame street cake, the works. The second and third birthdays were at our house but still had a huge guest list. This year it’s going to be small and sweet. I mean it. No big meal for everyone, no inviting people because Aiden played with them once. A few kids and their parents that’s it! I had intended to throw Aiden a party at our local minor hockey teams game but he is so obsessed with Spiderman he is begging for a party at home with Spiderman. My grandma makes cakes and made him superman for his superhero birthday last year. He’s already asking her for Spideman this year. Part of it is because his birthday is right before Christmas and I don’t want him to feel short changed. This year small guest list and we are thinking of asking people to donate a gift to toys for tots instea of gifts for Aiden. He has too many anyway.
This November will be Caleb’s first birthday. I am having it the weekend after Halloween and since I’ve always wanted a Halloween baby he is going to have a Halloween themed party. Luckily there is a park next to our house and the weather is usually nice enough to have an outside party so I am planning on having it there.
The party will not be as big as Aiden’s but it will be a fun time. Bobbing for apples, decorating your own pumpkins, caramel apples, oh my. I love doing these things for my boys. But I will probably make cupcakes instead of a big cake. Maybe a small bounce house but who knows. Just close family and friends and of course a piñata! No elaborate gifts for guests. A bag of goodies from the piñata and maybe a rice krispie treat as a parting gift. This year we are going for understated not pumped out.
I can’t keep up with these trends and why would I want to. I’m not that kind of person and I don’t want my boys growing up thinking the world revolves around them. I don’t want to wake up one day and find us on my super sweet sixteen having meltdown because Usher won’t some sing a their birthday. In life birthdays are about celebrating the birth of that person not how much crap they have.
So no pimping it here. But somehow I think my boys will survive.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

