Boys boys boys!!

It has come to my attention that I am the mom of 2 boys. I know how dis I forget or not notice that? It’s not that I didn’t know, hi I carried them for 9 months and endured 2 surgeries to birth them and their heads! But what I mean is I am the mom to 2 boys that will eventually be teenagers, young men, and susequently grown men.

::gulp:: ::gulp:: I don’t know nothin about raising no men. Don’t get me wrong here, I always wanted this. I was, am, will always be a tomboy kinda gal but does that qualify me to raise a man? I also always said I want all boys I can’t handle a girly girl. Now that I think about what I want to teach my boys and what kind of men/fathers/husbands I would like them to be, I realize how little I am prepared for this.

Sure I’ve read books. I learned to listen to my gut and how to tune out the criticism of others. But mos of that was on caring for them, nuturkng their minds and bodies. I am talking about their soul. We are not a religious family. I go to church but don’t make my kids go nor do I attend regularly. My hubs is not a fan of organized religion. If I had to chose I would say we tend to be more spiritual rather than religious. So when again I am speaking to their soul who they become whole heartedly.

I sit here wondering how the planner in me let this one slide. I am now thinking how can I fix this and where do I start? Then I remember I have. My hubs and I remember to take time for each other. To show our sons what a real relationship between a man and woman is like. It’s hard and it’s work but rewarding and fun. We are teaching them kindness and unconditional, wide open love. Tolerance and understanding. Caring and compassion. It may not be perfect, if may not be all they need to become the men I want them to be but it’s a start. And just like now when they don’t listen or things don’t go as planned, I have to be thankful for what I have and know wanting and reality are different and imperfect.

I continue to ponder and write down things/qualities I want in their souls. I don’t know if the plan will ever be completed but that’s ok. We have a long time to work at it.

And please feel free to let me know how you would raise a man!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

