Pancake muffins!!

Okay so I have this great recipe for whole wheat pancakes I modified into muffins. Then I decided to add stuff to them. First was blueberries, next was pumpkin, and this just in chocolate and peanut butter chips next week! So here is the plain recipe and followed by the add ins:

1c whole wheat flour
2/3 c all purpose flour
1/3 c wheat germ
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 1/2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp kosher salt
5 1/2 tbsp butter cold
2 c lowfat milk with 2 tbsp lemon juice
( you could sub buttermilk or yogurt)
2 eggs beaten
1 tsp cinnamon

In a large bowl mix all the dry ingredients. Next cut in butter. Make a well in center and add wet ingredients. Stir until just combined. Try not to over mix.

Line muffin tin with baking cups. Spray liners with cooking spray. Fill cups 2/3 of the way up. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes regular sized muffins and 6-8 minutes mini muffins.

Add ins:

When adding wet ingredients add in 2 tsp finely grated lemon peel. Toss blueberries in some flour and add in a few berries to each muffin before baking. I omitted the cinnamon with these.

For the pumpkin muffins I added 2/3 c of pureed pumpkin and omitted the cinnamon and added 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. I baked as usual then I brushed them with maple syrup, let it soak in a bit then crumbled bacon on top.

Next week gonna add 1/4 c chocolate chips and 1/4 c peanut butter chips!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

