My picky baby

So it has become very apparent that while he will eat almost anything, when and how much is totally up to him. Caleb, in comparison to Aiden, is a picky eater. He goes through these moments of eating a ton to barely taking a few bites. It can be so frustrating. He will generally eat any bread like item and has decided he loves roasted chicken. So in an effort to not waste food and get him to eat more( he is not starving in any way either) I am planning out Calebs meals and trying to make sure he gets a little of everything.

Caleb is almost 11 months old and has been eating solids since he was 5 months old. He started much slower than my first but each child is very different. For breakfast oatmeal, soy yogurt and raspberries is just fine. For lunch veggie dogs and veggie cheese works. ( he has a dairy allergy) but I want to continue making baby food for him even as he gets into these confusing food times. Half way to table food but still wanting/needing baby food. So I am making a stash of food to freeze that I know he will eat whenever.

First up is stars with chicken, pureed carrots, vegetable stock and peas. I cook the chicken in a bit of water with some garlic and onion powder. I shred that into bite sized pieces. Meanwhile I have a pot on the stove to boil the star shaped pasta. The mini version of course:) and carrots steaming in the steamer. I cook pasta rinse drain and set aside. Purée the carrots adding veggie stock to get desired consistency. Adding the peas at the last minute to just kind of chop up but not purée. Then I mix it all up and divide into baby food cubes and freeze.

Next up is my whole wheat pancakes that I make adding savory purees. Like chicken, butternut squash and garlic. Then cook in a nonstick pan and cool completely. I layer them in baggies with wax paper in between and freeze.

Lastly is wonton raviloi’s. Take wonton wrapers an fill with kids favorite ingredients. I have some mini turkey meatballs I have and add a dallop of tomato sauce fold over and freeze in baggies. When ready I add to a boiling pot of water just to cook the wrapper and warm the middle

Nothing too adventurous or new under the sun but definitely worth the effort to make sure my babay is getting the food he needs the way he likes it.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My picky baby

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention My picky baby | A Coffeeqween's Life -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

