What’s for dinner, mom?

It’s Sunday and I’m sitting here trying tothink of what to make this week. Trying to be thoughtful of what needs to be made from the fridge and what sounds good right now. I go through these “ruts” from time to time. What do I cook that is quick and heathly and is fun. Fun? Yes fun. I love food and I love to cook. But being a mom that works full time outside the home doesn’t leave me a lot of time in the kitchen. In fact our life leaves me very little time in the kitchen. So I try to experiment from time to time. I am bored so looks like this week is it. I bought some more food apps so I am trying some recipes from there. Here it goes:

Breakfast on the go: Ellie Kreiger’s breakfast cookie

Lunch: I slacked I have no ideas:(

Dinner:

Monday: Italian meatball pie(Betty crocker app)
Tuesday: butternut squash raviloi(didn’t make last week)
Wednesday: pot roast in crock pot
Thursday: chicken and rice casserole(Campbell soup app)
Friday: nite off
Saturday: albondigas soup
Sunday: football @parents

Recipe of the week: albondigas

2 carrots
1 cabbage
1 med zucchini
3 corn on the cobs halved
1lb of lean ground beef or turkey
Beef stock
1 can whole tomatoes(optional)
Uncooked white rice
4 med- large russet potaotes
Salt and pepper
Egg
Breadcrumbs
Milk
Onion

To make meatballs(you could always use favorite store brand)

Put meat into a bowl with 1 beaten egg with 4 tbsp of milk. Add a handfull of breadcrumbs and 1/2 c rice. Season with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Roughly 1/2 tsp of each. Mix with hands and form into 1 inch balls.

In a large pot add I box of beef stock and 1 cup of water. Add meatballs and chopped onion cook on med for 30 minutes. Add diced veggies and cook until tender, lastly add cabbage and tomatoes without the juice, breaking them up with your hands as you add them. serve with Spanish rice and tortillas.

We have a condiment bar of lemon wedges, pickled jalepenos, and dried oregano.

Sorry if this seems like a last minute recipe, it’s not. It’s a family recipe and we don’t measure or time anything! It’s all by hand and eyesight so I’m guessing here people. As always play around and have fun. My mom add the rice to her soup, I eat it on the side if at all. Enjoy!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s for dinner, mom?

  1. Pop says:

    I feel the same way when it comes to recipes: most of the ones we use at home, we just know.

  2. Heather Wilson says:

    May I suggest an ingredient to add to your albondigas recipe? Mint. I know it sounds repulsive and impossible that it would work, but I must say, it adds the perfect twist of flavor and brings out all the other veggies. It works, promise. Add it like you would parsley. Or mix it into the meatballs.

Leave a Reply

