Game Day Guacamole

This is my go to dip recipe when people come over for the big game. Most everyone loves chips and dip amd Mexican food. Here’s my families easy recipe:

4 large avocados- ripe that means soft not squishy!
1 large tomato diced small
1-2 jalepenos, chopped finely or you can use cayenne pepper
1 small onion, I prefer yellow diced small
A bunch of cilantro chopped
Salt
Pepper
Cream cheese 1-2 tbsp
Sour cream 1-2 tbsp
1 lemon

Okay so as I said this is a family recipe so bear with me we don’t have a recipe for anything! We just learn by watching and helping:)

First thing I do is prep my add ins. I use a mini chopper and chop up the onion, then set aside. I chop up the jalepenos, then set aside. I dice my tomato, then chop a handful of cilantro.

In a medium sized bowl i halve the avocados and scoop out the inside into the bowl. I throw away the pits, reserving one for the end. Next I use a potato masher and mash the avocado.
Now I like mine with chunks of avocado so I don’t over smash to the point of smoothing out the avocados. Next I add in 1 tbsp of cream cheese(softened) and 1 tbsp sour cream. Of course if you don’t have one or the other you could always double up on what you do have.
What you are looking for here is a creamy bright colored mash.
Next I add salt and pepper to taste. I tend to go light on the salt since I will add some lemon juice later.
Here I add the onion and jalepenos. I slowly add the jalepenos one spoonf at a time since sometimes they can be very hot. After stirring those in I add the tomatoes and cilantro and fold over a few times to incorporate. Next I squeeze half a lemon on top fold once more and taste. Depending on what I taste I add some more salt/pepper/lemon. Lastly drop the reserved pit into the bowl to help keep it from turning brown.

Notes: if serving to kids I usually will add everything minus the jalepenos and set a small portion aside for them. Then I add the jalepenos.

If you don’t have jalepenos cayenne pepper will work fine. Just start with a tsp and taste from there.

Enjoy:)

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Game Day Guacamole

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Game Day Guacamole | A Coffeeqween's Life -- Topsy.com

  2. Suchmaschine says:

    Strange this post is totaly unrelated to what I was searching google for, but it was listed on the first page. I guess your doing something right if Google likes you enough to put you on the first page of a non related search.

  3. You made some good points there. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with
    your blog.

Leave a Reply

