Caleb eats

Last week I made Caleb corn casserole and froze some extra. This week I’m making him pumpkin and quinoa and pumpkin ravioli with yogurt.

Caleb cannot have lots of dairy. I learned this when we switched from breast milk to formula exclusively. He started to get eczema really bad. But the worst part was he screamed bloody murder just trying to poop. While this is almost the opposite effect of a dairy allergy, I knew right away it was the formula. Since we started with a gentle formula I pleaded withthe doctor to see him. She assured me the eczema was normal and not related to the formula and would go away. She then said he wasn’t allergic because constipation is not associated with dairy allergies. I told her I know because I have a low tolerance to dairy myself. I eat cheese and rarely some ice cream but small amounts. Drinking milk makes me awfully sick quickly. After she kept saying he will be fine he is just adjusting I convinced her that we were switching to soy. I had a sample can so we gave it a try and within 24 hours his eczema was completely gone and he had successfully pooped without screaming. Success!

So I tell you all of this because I have to limit the dairy he gets still. So right now when I want to give him cheese raviloi, mac n cheese, lasagna with the rest of us I can’t. I tried and he instantly became constipated. I give him the veggie/ soy cheese but trying to make him dishes that include milk, eggs and cheese is too much.

I have some leftover wonton wrappers from when I made butternut squash ravioli. I would love to make some for Caleb but don’t want it to be just meat or just veggies. In honor of the season I am making him some pumpkin raviloi with yogurt. He loves soy yogurt and would eat it all the time if I let him. This is his creamy cheesy effect for my little man.

I take a can of plain pureed pumpkin. You could of course bake a pie pumpkin and purée it yourself but I used mine already. Canned is just as good so I’m using it. I blend it with 1/4 c soy yogurt and cinnamon. I take the wonton wrapper and cut it into fours to make mini raviloi. I put a dallop if filling and wet the edges with water on my finger. I top with the other square of wrapper. I repeat until all my wrappers are used. I lay them on a parchment lined baking sheet and freeze. Once frozen I toss in a ziploc baggie label it and stick it back in the fridge. Now I have homemade raviolis for my babe anytime. To cook just add to boiling water for 3-5 minutes or until desired tenderness is reached.

I had some leftover purée so I added it to steamed brown rice and chicken broth and cooked until rice is super soft. Instant baby risotto!

What are some of your favorite pumpkin recipes for little pumpkin?

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caleb eats

  1. Pingback: Twitted by thecoffeeqween

Leave a Reply

