Caleb Eats: Birthday Bash!!

So this weekend is Caleb’s first birthday party. He actually doesn’t turn 1 until the 10th but we are celebrating a little early. I have always wanted a baby with a Halloween birthday. Caleb was my closest so I figured it’s just one week later why not. His birthday party will be a cute pumpkin themed Halloween party. I asked everyone to dress their kids in their costumes if they wish. I tried out all the little goodies I want to make for his birthday on Halloween. They were a hit. Everyone gobbled every last one of them up- even the jello cut into halloween shapes. It was all just too cute for words. But there was one thing that Caleb devoured and that was the semi homemade pumpkin empanadas.
They were so cute, shaped like little pumpkins. I let Aiden cut out the pie dough and I filled them and baked them. So yummy these would be great at any holiday party.

I used 1 pkg of refrigerated pie crust. Of course you could make your own or use frozen just thaw the frozen completely first.

1 80z can of pumpkin puree. You could easily use the pumpkin pie filling too.

1/2 tsp of all spice
1/2 tsp of cinnamon
2 tbsp of brown sugar
1/4 c soy milk ( you could use regular)

I unrolled the dough onto a lightly floured surface. Using a large pumpkin shaped cookie cutter I cut out as many pumpkins as I could with both sheets. I combined scraps, rolled out and cut again. I did this twice. While Aiden was doing that I preheated the oven to 350 and mixed the pumpkin puree, spices and milk together. You may not even need that much milk I eyeballed it. I could pour a 1/4 c and tablespoon it in. You are looking for a creamy and smooth texture. Next place half of your pumpkins on cookie sheet. Place a heaping spoonful of mixture into the middle and flatten with the back of your spoon. Be careful to leave some edging to seal your empanada. Next dip your finger in a small bowl of water and wet the edge of the bottom piece of pie. Then top with another piece of pie. Seal the edges by pressing them together ever so slightly. Lastly brush top with egg wash and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar. I baked mine for 15 minutes. But I find my stove bakes a little faster than most. I hope you try these. So super simple and everyone gets their own mini pie.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caleb Eats: Birthday Bash!!

  1. one can argue that it can go both ways

Leave a Reply

