Okay it’s Monday before Thanksgiving and I have no time!

So Thanksgiving is on Thursday! Yikes! I feel like this snuck up on me and I am completely stunned. This year we are not having it at my house so at least there is that. I am however in charge of making several items and my mom is freaking out a bit because I was apparently suppose to take an extra day off work to help her cook. I guess my mind reading capabilities fell through on that one. Luckily I work for Starbucks so I can change my schedule around and work early on Wednesday and spend the whole day with her. Dodge bullet 1.
Now what am I making. I am making the stuffing. My family is really basic and they do not like a lot of bells and whistles. Some bread, herbs and stock and they are pretty much satisfied. Which is ok with me because I like simplicity too. I really wanted to try adding fennel to my recipe this year but the look on my mom’s face when I mentioned it was astoundingly you better not!! So simple dressing it is. I am also making a cranberry orange sauce and a sweet potato cheesecake. Normally I make a pumpkin cheesecake but this year I am changing it up. I also want to make a little something special for my partners who are working on Thanksgiving, to show my appreciation and gratitude. Maybe I will make them a cheesecake too. I’m still researching ideas.
Our dinner plans this week are going to be crazy too. It’s also my birthday so I have no clue what we are doing this weekend. So I have really no menu plan nor a meatless monday idea since all I can think about is my ever growing list of Thanksgiving things to do! I will say this though, I am a huge fan of food and feeding healthier, nutritious food to my kids and I am learning a lot about those subjects. I am interested in farming practices and factory food. I follow some farmers and ag supporters on Twitter. Beacuse of that there is a little thing this year called food thanks. I will be posting my food thanks tomorrow but no matter how you eat or where you get your food don’t forget to give thanks to people who provided it for you.

So tonight we are eating skillet lasagna. Tomorrow it’s pork steak and rice. Wednesday is up in the air and well that’s as far as I’ve gotten. Ha! I wish all of you a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Cranberry Sauce:

4 c of cranberries
1 cup of sugar
1/2 c agave
1 tsp cinnamon
1 med-large orange juiced and zested.
1/3 c water

In a sauce pan over medium heat, add water and sugar, agave and berries. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer and add spices. Stir to mix and simmer 5-7 minutes, during this time most of the berries will burst and some will remain whole. This is good, this is what we want. Lastly add orange juice and zest, stir and transfer to bowl. Allow to cool before serving or make a day ahead(I’m making Tuesday) and refrigerate until ready to use. I also like to double this batch and jar up the extra for family members to take to with their leftovers.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Okay it’s Monday before Thanksgiving and I have no time!

  1. Your cheesecake sounds good, and i love stuffing!
    Happy Birthday!

  2. bet365 says:

    hi I was fortunate to find your website in bing
    your Topics is wonderful
    I get a lot in your Topics really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you site is really exceptional
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

