Coffee Talk: Mocha Hot Cocoa Mix

I give coffee as a gift all the time. People are always asking me for coffee. I don’t mind it makes gift giving easier and I love coffee so why not. But sometimes I want to switch it up. Sometimes I want to putt own little touch on things, put some qween in the coffee if you know what I mean;) so this year I made Aiden’s teacher a mocha hot cocoa mix with candy cane sprinkles. I put the mix in a canning jar and wrapped it in a recipe card and ribbon. Added it to a stocking Aiden picked out and tossed in a Starbucks mug and a few baggies of marshmallows.
It’s really simple to make and you can always customize the flavors to the person. You also can put the mix in smaller jars and make several stocking stuffers.

Here’s what you need:
1 lg canning jar or 5 small jars
Ribbon
A swatch of cloth or fabric
1 card stock or recipe card or index card
3 c of nonfat dry milk
1.5 c of unsweetened cocoa powder
1 12 pack of Starbucks Italian Roast Via Ready Brew
1/2-3/4 c granulated sugar
6-12 candy canes crushed finely

Mix all ingredients and divide into jars. Place swatch of fabric over lid then screw ring on over the fabric. Attach the recipe card to the outside of the jar. Lay ribbon out, place jar in the middle and tie ribbon on top of jar. Add any embellisments, curls, what have you. You are all set! I adapted this recipe to fit my tastes. I found it in a magazine added the coffee, candy canes, and marshmallows. With only 6 or a half cup of crushed candy canes the peppermint flavor is subtle. The more you add the stronger the flavor.
The recipe card should read:
Mocha Hot Cocoa Mix with Candy Cane sprinkles.
Makes approx 20 cups ( 1 large jar) or 4 cups (small jars)
Add 3 tbsp to a 10 oz mug. Add 1 c of boiling water and stir 1-2 minutes to dissolve. Top with marshmallows. Instead of marshmallows you could always add candy canes dipped in chocolate and sprinkles and use as stir sticks. Just melt some white chocolate chips, dip candy canes and add sprinkles or jimmies. Allow to dry then wrap in a cello bag or festive ziploc bag. Put inside the mug you give as a gift with mix. ( the candy canes were also featured in the magazine) I thought they would make a great stir stick!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Coffee Talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

