Sinner Saturdays: Wifey duties.

Ok so last night I was out on a date with my husband. It was an unplanned event but welcomed none the less. We were finishing eating, enjoying some beers and talking. I was telling him about my blogging and sinner Saturdays. I asked out loud ” hmmm what have I been not so great at this week?” he quickly smiled and said ” Really? Are you asking?” and before I actually thought out the possible implications of asking such a loaded question, I blurted out yes!
He laughed quickly then said “where do you want me to start?” Doh! Knife in the chest right at that moment. Think before you speak Ali think! So I glared I mean inquisitively looked into his eyes and said “no seriously, I have wronged you?” this led to a short and friendly discourse on my neglecting to be a wife. Ugh. I hate that.
I know that after spending a day managing a store, 20 people, and 600 customers when I get home all focus is on the kids. I am so guilty of not making time to be a friend and love to my husband. He always gets the short end of the stick. By the time the kids are in bed and the kitchen is cleared,I pick up the rest of the house, prep for the following day and it’s time for ME to get ready for bed. I have realized that if I want what I need from my husband I need to give him what he needs. I need to invest some time in him and us each day. I was good about that with one kid, but having two? Well let’s just say not so much.
So this week I apologize and ask my husband to forgive me for neglecting him. I know that having dinner made and clean clothes isn’t all you need from me. I need to remember to be your friend sometimes too. Ask more then how was work and what time do you work tomorrow. I need to spend a little couch time with ya. I am sorry and I love you. Always, Schmoopy.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Sinner Saturdays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

