Back to the daily grind!

Christmas came and went with even more fanfare than ever! For us, Caleb being 1 year old just added more excitement to the opening of presents. And this year Aiden really understood the whole Santa and presents gig. He made sure we saved some cookies from Christmas Eve at my grandparents for Santa. He wondered if Santa would put him on the naughty or nice list. (I’m sure the fake calls to Santa tattle telling him Aiden’s naughty moments didn’t help to ease his pretty little head! Hehe) All in all as a parent this is the best year yet!
But now it’s back to our ho hum life. Working at the Bux, being a wife, mom, boss all around little Miss Do It All! So I had to actually sit and think about what to make this week. I feel like it’s been forever since I did this. And I got a Kitchen Aid stand mixer and food processor for christmas so there is the whole wanting to use it every single time I cook. I mean every.single.time! So I finally talked myself out of that and wrote a little plan. Welcome back to the daily grind people!
Breakfast: this week, in honor of my mixer I am whipping up a couple of batches of muffins and some breakfast bars for the baby.
Lunch: we are winging it this week. Although this weekend I may whip up some buckwheat crepes for wrap next week.
Dinner:
Monday: the hubs has requested lasagna with Cesar salad and bread
Tuesday: carne asada tacos with rice
Wednesday: beef pot pie wedges
Thursday: out with family boys home alone
Friday and Saturday: up in the air for the holiday
Sunday: meatloaf and mashed potatoes with cauliflower purée, cheese and paprika on top

Veggie up Mashed Potatoes:
4-5 medium russet or Yukon gold potatoes peeled and quartered
1/2-2/3 of a cup of pureed cauliflower
1/4 c of light sour cream or evaporated milk
Shredded sharp cheddar cheese
Paprika, salt and pepper
Butter (duh)
Cauliflower purée:
I keep some purees of veggies we are not big fans of and add them to food when and where I can. This recipe is from Deceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld. It’s the exact recipe but pretty close. For the purée you can either steam the veggies and simply puree. Or you can roast them. I have to say roasting it is much better. If youndo roast simply drizzle olive oil, salt, pepper and little garlic over the cauliflower florets. Tops with hands and roast at 400-425 until tender. Really has a lot better flavor that way. Purée in blender or food processor. Freeze any unuse amounts.

Boil potatoes, drain and in a bowl add sour cream or milk, puree, and a couple of pats of butter. Depending on how you like your potatoes, either whip them with a mixer or mash them with a masher. I do both- depends on my mood.
While mixing add salt and pepper to taste. If needed more butter and milk. I have learned potatoes are to taste and everyone has different things they like when eating them. My dad doesn’t do sour cream so it’s all butter.
Next pour into baking dish and spread out evenly. Top with shredded cheese and sprinkle with paprika. Bake until cheese is bubbly. If you like your cheese a bit crunchy on top- like me, then broil for a few minutes once cheese has melted and potatoes have warmed through. But watch your cheese it burns quickly!
Here is the fun part, you can play with these as much as you want. Adding pieces of bacon, chives or green onions on top, add even more veggies with broccoli florets. The possibilites are endless. Have fun!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

