Caleb Eats: smoothies!

Sometimes I am just at a loss as to why Caleb doesn’t want to eat. Last night for instance, he didn’t want baby food, our food, finger foods, nothing. Finally I plopped some soy tougher mixed with a little bit of blackberry preserves and he ate the whole thing. I mean licked the bowl clean whole thing! Sometimes it’s textures, sometimes it’s temperature. His eating habits are so hard to read. Throw in the fact that Aiden still eats anything amd everything I plop down in front of him and I am so confused!
But thanks to Aiden I found a great way to give him food on the go without compromising as much. I know Caleb has a really big sweet tooth and that’s part of the problem. Aiden loves smoothies. My mom buys the prepacked Jamba Juice smoothies from the grocery store for him and he kept bugging me to do the same. So one day I bought fruit as usual and Aiden was bugging to get extra fruit for his smoothies. The problem with that is somedays we don’t make a smoothie so we have too much fruit, but then I had a thought. Why not make my own smoothie prepacks? Duh! So here is my first take on prepack smoothies. I made these for Caleb and he asked for another serving! I have been playing around with the combinations to include more veggies. The first one is all fruit. I freeze everything and just add orange juice. You could leave out the yogurt and add that fresh and use less juice.

Berry blast smoothie:

1/4 c blueberries
1/4 c raspberries
1/2 c strawberries
1/2 – 1 whole banana
2 yogurt ice cubes

First I scoop soy yogurt into an ice cube tray and freeze. That’s how I get the yogurt ice cubes. You could always buy already frozen fruit whatever you prefer. I buy fresh when in season.
I add the ingredients to a ziploc baggie and put into the freezer. When I want to make a smoothie I toss the contents of 1 baggie into blender with 1/2 c of orange juice, carrot juice or veggie/grit juice blend. If you use 1 whole banana you need to either slice it up into the baggie or add a little more juice. I also add a couple of tbsp of flax seed.
Then have fun. Sometimes we slice a banana on top with some homemade granola and eat our smoothies as the whole meal. Other times it’s a drink we have with muffins or bagels. Either we we love em.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

