Caleb Eat’s: a new muffin

So I knew I wanted to bake something for breakfast today. It’s my day off nothing quick and easy I wanna cook my boys something good. Unfortunately they were absolutely starving when they woke up this morning. Starving. So I whipped up some oatmeal real quick and told them I would make some muffins too. Caleb took 3 bites and decided he was done. Ugh come on kid! He seriously loves oatmeal! On to some unsweetened yogurt with some blackberry preserves. Let me tell you he licks the bowl whenever he gets this. 3 bites again!
I gave up and let him go play. I decided I wanted a hearty muffin that I didn’t mind them eating so I threw a bunch of stuff in a bowl and mixed then baked. The result? A super yummy muffin all of us devoured!
In my resolutions I posted yesterday weight loss and organization were at the top of my list. I hope to stick to my menu plans more and revamp The Smith Household Binder. It kinda got put aside last year and never used. Hopefully I will have it all done by the end of this week so I can show it off. So today I will menu plan and another resolution is to incorporate more veggies. This week for breakfast we are eating these muffins. I am very happy with how they turned out.
Bear with me on this recipe I’m still new at all this:)
1c whole wheat flour
1/3 c all purpose flour
3/4 c old fashioned oats
1/4 tsp salt
1tsp cinnamon
1/2tsp nutmeg
2tsp baking powder
1tsp baking soda
2tbsp brown sugar
Mix all the dry in a large bowl and make a well in the center in that well add the following:
1beaten egg
1 med-lg granny smith apple, peeled,cored and grated
2 carrots grated
1/4 c oil
1/4 c agave
1/4 c orange juice
1/2 c milk
Mix until just incorporated. If you would like I added 1/3 c chopped walnuts and 1/4 c wheat bran. Stir to incorporate.
I lined a mini muffin pan and with a small ice cream scoop(like mini) I filled each one and baked at 375 for 10 minutes. I got 43 mini muffins. You could also add raisins. I didn’t because I’m not a big fan of baked raisins. You could also sub flax seed or wheat germ for the wheat bran. If you prefer a sweet muffin you could add more brown sugar or make a simple brown sugar struesel and top each muffin. I try to limit sugar for my kids so this was plenty. Let me know if you make them and if you liked them!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caleb Eat’s: a new muffin

  1. Kelley says:

    Those sound good! I’m impressed with all of the healthy ingredients. I will have to give them a try. Thanks for sharing…and thanks for sending your link to me via Twitter!

Leave a Reply

