CoffeeTalk: the new Starbucks Logo

Okay if you haven’t heard Starbucks announced a logo change yesterday. I know for most people it’s not that big of a deal but for me it’s kinda huge. I wish I could talk more about the why behind the change but what I have read is privileged information. Meant for partner ears only.
Anyway, I am a big fan of Schultzy (as he is called in our home) or Howard Schultz. I whole heartedly believe in him and his vision since my very first day at Starbucks way back in April of 1999. But I am worried that it’s too much change. When I hear the words Howard wrote to us I truly belibe he is right. That we are doing what’s right for the business, for our future. But in my lifetime, in this society this company, that black outlined siren with the green ring shouting Starbucks Coffee is my Nike Swoosh symbol. It’s all I’ve ever known. I see a coffee cup with any bits of green and I automatically think of Starbucks. That green logo has made me so proud to wear that green apron them black apron. The only logo I’ve ever thought we could change to is the original brown logo with the “naughty” Siren on it. (you know the one that shows her nips)
I just fear a backlash. Remember when Gap tried to change their logo? Not good people not good. I know ours isn’t that drastic nor will most people notice for a while but I just don’t know yet.
Oh and I don’t fear change people. In fact one of my favorite sayings is “the only consistent thing at Starbucks is change”. I know it’s time. I know I will love this logo. I know there will not be some huge backlash like Gap. I think more than anything I was just caught off guard by this change. I guess I am just feeling a little bit of an identity crisis here. Have you seen it? What do you think? Check it out here: Starbucks new logo

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Coffee Talk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CoffeeTalk: the new Starbucks Logo

  1. You have insider info, no fair:) Too me its not a big deal because as long as the quality remains, I don’t care whats on the cup ( as long as its not dog shit:)
    As long as their is good stuff IN the cup:)

  2. Cristina says:

    I read about the logo change too. I whole heartedly know that sometimes I spend too much $$$ at Starbucks. It’s insane how much I’ll pay for a pumpkin spiced latte or chai tea latte…but it’s my treat to myself. I wouldn’t want them to change too much, and I do like their existing logo, but as your previous commentor suggested, as long as they don’t change the quality. 🙂 (btw – I got to visit the Pike Place Starbucks a couple of months ago and loved it!) I look fwd to reading about your Starbucks adventures.

    • It’s good to hear that customers are not as wigged out about the change as some of us partners are. I was a little dramatic, it will take time but I will get there. Thanks for commenting

Leave a Reply

