To Agvocate or Not?

So I love Twitter. It has helped me find mom’s and dad’s for support and friendship, some seriously fun times, and education about things that are important in my life. I know I sound like a crazy person, but really if you are not on Twitter you can’t judge.
Back to my story, I have friended and followed some people in the ag business. It has really got me questioning what I know or think I know. I live in central California which is surrounded by dairies, roses, oranges, cotton, hay, almonds… the list goes on and on. As a parent I am trying my best to ensure my kids get a good balanced diet with the least amount of processed/genetically modified foods possible. I know people will say none of that matters, it’s all lies, but it does to me. Some of the things I’ve read and seen make me cringe at the thought of eating anything from a chain grocery store. But as I read these ag people’s tweets and blogs I am finding that not every farm is the same. Just because it seems like all farms are following big farming rules, that may not always be the case.
So I think where I was once decidely against most of the farms around me and what I thought they were doing, I am learning what I don’t know about ag/farming could just about fill up the Grand Canyon:/ Great, where does that leave me and how should I invest my time?
Right now I know I am Not going to judge a book by it’s cover. I know I am still staying away from highly processed foods and try to eat more cleanly. I will still shop farmers markets and buy locally because I will never give that up. I really want to learn more about where my food comes from- specifically where my grocer gets their meat and how it is raised, slaughtered and processed. I will continue Meatless Monday in my house because we are eating more fish and veggies and that is always a good thing. I know I want to visit a dairy farm and really learn about the process. I also know I don’t want to hate on people for what they choose to do or don’t do with their farm. I don’t have to support them- but there is a place for everyone right?
Lastly I want to continue learning and tweeting with the ag folks so I am better informed and can teach my boys about food so eating healthy, sustainable, whole foods isn’t hard. It is just the way we eat. I know I want to be an Agvocate for the people like me- the average parent trying to feed a family the best way possible.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

