Caleb Eats: Homemade Poptarts

I have made home made pop tarts before but this time I made them with whole wheat flour. I am living The King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Cookbook. I used the whole wheat pie crust recipe ad made bite sized pop tarts, so yummy they didn’t need any sugar icing on top.
Caleb ate it right up! Signing more eat to me so I gave him another. With this super simple pie crust recipe the possibilities are endless. As I write thus I am baking some pizza bites. Same concept as a pop tart but made savory with pizza sauce and mozzarella inside. Brushed with butter and Parmesan cheese, I can’t wait to bite into these!
I am also going to try a breakfast filling of egg, ham and cheddar cheese. The last recipe I tried was ok. But I like a little more substantial crust and the buttery sweetness of the whole wheat makes it even better.
So here is the recipe for the pie crust from the cookbook. I did not have powdered buttermilk so I used nonfat dry milk instead. The key is to roll it out thin and I used a small pizza cutter to cut about 1.5 inch squares. I made these with my kids in mind so they came out perfect for Calebs little hands and not too small for Aiden either.
Have fun and make these with your kids!

Whole wheat pie crust from King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Cookbook:

1c of whole wheat flour
1 tbsp of nonfat dry milk
1 tbsp powdered sugar
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
6 tbsp cold unsalted butter
2 tbsp orange juice
1.5-2 tbsp of ice water

In a food processor blend dry ingredients. Cut butter up into small cubes and pulse in a few at a time until all butter is in. Pulse until flour and butter come together in coarse pieces. Stream in orange juice and them 1 tbsp of water. Check your dough, if more water is needed add 1/2 tbsp at a time. The recipe suggests 1 tbsp at a time but I used a half and that was perfect.

Roll dough onto lightly floured surface and pat into a square. Roll out into rectangle that is 1/8 of an inch thin. Trim the edges to make the dough even on all sides. Then cut into 1-1.5 inch stips lengthwise. Do the same horizontally.
Add 1/2 tsp of your favorite filling. I used nutella. I also made a mixture of brown sugar, butter, cinnamon, and flour to resemble a struesel. I filled half with this mixture as well. Only fill half of the squares. Wet the edges of the other squares ever so lightly with water and the tip of your finger. Place ontop of the squares with filling and crimp the edges with a fork. I used a baby fork- perfect size for the job.

Next bake 10-15 minutes at 350*. I did not grease my pan. I used a baking stone to bake. When the edges start to brown they are done. Cool amd enjoy. Sprinkle with powdered sugar icing if you like but the dough is so yummy I felt it was unnecessary.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

