My letter to the Zach Ewing of The Bakersfield Californian

This is a letter I wrote to the sports reporter, editor of the sports page, and editor of The Bakersfield Californian. This letter is in response to their lack of reporting on all wrestlers equally. I am sick of putting up with this paper. It just needed to be said.

It’s with great sadness, but not surprise that the Californian once again highlighted all Bakersfield High School wrestlers in this Sunday’s paper.

While I understand that BHS is the legend, the legacy, you cannot understand how profoundly disheartening it is to see your kid on the front page but no quotes from him. Even more so, to only read your child’s name in a blurb at the end of the article.

When you do that Zach you let those other wrestlers and parents know their efforts, determination and hard work are only sideline worthy.

I don’t expect this letter to change anything. The ones my mother wrote when my brother was disregarded in this newspaper changed the writing for a week, but here we are again.

There was no mention of the other tournament featuring many outlying cities wrestlers like Wasco. There was no mention of the questionable decision making and inconsistent calls of the referee’s that has plagued Kern County wrestling. Last week a questionable call had Micah Cruz from BHS in a loss and this week the picture you posted on the front page shows what others at that match knew- Gomez was robbed.

I once again was duped into wasting $1.50 on this paper. Since it wasn’t my first time I guess it’s my fault. But no more. You have stolen my hard earned money for the last time.

Thank you for listening and politely deleting.

Alicia Smith
read the article here

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My letter to the Zach Ewing of The Bakersfield Californian

  1. It’s interesting to see this point of view. I can’t say fore sure if I agree or not, but it is something I will think about now.

Leave a Reply

