Marry me marry my family.

I am super close to my family. My husband doesn’t always get it. It’s okay. I understand. His family and my family very different. Both love each other very much. Both dysfunctional in their own ways. We both get super frustrated with each others family.

We recently went on a vacation to Texas to visit my hubs mom and her family. (his parents are divorced and live in different states) his sister who lives by his father came with her hubs. I was so excited to see everyone and missed them. We had lived there a few years prior to getting married and I became close to this side of the family.

One thing I know, becoming a mom has made me very protective of my babies. I know his family means no harm, I know this is how they love, grew up, raised their own. I know part of me is being sensitive. I know my 4 year old doesn’t understand. But words hurt, and they can cut like a knife. This last vacation they did.

Aiden as at a stage where he can become very bratty, test the limit of patience in a saint, but he is a child. Calling him a twit, asking him what is wring with him, yelling and tossing him outside, is not okay with mama. I let it all go, I took him to the room. I know they know they upset me. But nothing needs to be said. Aiden didn’t understand. I don’t know what will happen if this happens again. I’m sure auntie M will/ha said something since we left. Maybe they will learn better maybe they will watch it just to not upset me.

I know they love us. I know they love Aiden with all their heart. I know this is over and done with and will be the end of it. I know I still love them all very much. Because when you marry a man you marry his family. I love my man and I love his family. Just remember: Don’t Poke the Bear!!!!!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marry me marry my family.

  1. Kathy says:

    before i even finished reading this post i just wanted to say that i totally get where this is going! kevin doesn’t understand sometimes when i go out of my way for my family… i guess mexican family’s are more close-knit?? i dunno…just a thought 🙂

    • I do think culture has something to do with it. But his family is so spread out and mine is here. It will never be perfect and so I have to learn to give him some space. I’m sure my family is no picnic for him!

Leave a Reply

