Can Mama get her Groove Back?

My hubs and I have been married for almost 6 years. But we jar been together for 12. Wow! 12 seems so long when you consider we are only 31 years old. I was very much the independent girl when I met him. I will pay half, I don’t like PDA beyond holding hands. But when I met him I fell hard for him.

Over the years we had our trials, the ups and downs, including a break up that nearly kept us apart forever. But during all that I became so comfortable with him. He became my best friend. Even when we were apart if something funny happened I would call because I knew he would get it.

Cut to now. I have farted, belched, used the bathroom in front of him. I had 2 c sections- he has literally seen me from the inside out! There is no mystery between me and my man. And sometimes I wonder if that makes our relationship different. Does he not think I “need” him because he has seen me get up and determined to leave the hospital walk around mere hours after having a baby? Is it because he has seen me time and time again do things women are not supposed to ever do in front of their men? Has my naive belief that husbands should be a part of every aspect of our lives led mine to no longer see me as the hot crazy girl he once dated and struggled to figure out?

Probably. Hell of course it has! But the big question is can I get my groove back? I mean Stella did so why can’t I? If I stop doing those things in front of him will he forget? If I shave when he isn’t around, if I stop belching like a dude will he see me differently?

The smile of your child makes you forget the pain of childbirth so why can’t a little mystery and lingerie make my husband remember I’m not one of the guys?

Don’t get me wrong he finds me attractive and love me very much but sometimes I feel we fall into a roommate rut. And I can’t help but wonder why this doesn’t happen to other women. In particular the foo foo women. Well, they keep their mystery. They don’t floss in front of their husband. They don’t belch like Barney from The Simpsons. I think it’s time for me to add a little mystery back into my marriage. What do you think?

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Can Mama get her Groove Back?

  1. Audra says:

    We fell into that same rut awhile back where we were so busy working and “doing life” as he pursued his doctorate degree, that we lost track of who we were as a couple. We had 2 kids and then woke up one morning realizing we needed to really search to find that spark again. We spent a month focusing on US. Our marriage. Our spark. What a difference it has made! Yeah, we still have to stop and take time to fan that flame, but after 10 years, we’ve got our groove back! Even the smallest changes can make a big difference.

  2. Alaina says:

    I haven’t been married that long at all but I can totally see how that happens…daily life and everything you go through…sometimes the friendship/roommate side of it takes over. I say go get him girl 🙂

  3. Pop says:

    Wife and I have been married for about the same time and yeah, we fall into that rut too. My wife does a lot of those things in front of me too and she should – it would suck to have to hold your farts for all those years of marriage. I guess what helps us get out of our roommate rut is to spend some time alone without the kids, as the rut is usually caused by us going about our business.

Leave a Reply

