Sinner Saturdays: Mama I’m Coming Home

This week it’s more of a confession rather than a sin. Today my tio Victor is coming home from prison. He has been there for the last 8 serving his sentence, paying his debt to society and the people he hurt. But the people who don’t get redemption from him going away, his family, for those people it is just beginning.

Now here is my confession, while proud of the person he has become, I am so nervous for him. I want so badly for his children, who are grown adults now, to love him and give him the second chance everyone deserves. And while I know they will, it’s not without hesitation.

That judgment from his kids I hope that doesn’t bring him down. I hope he can stay strong knowing there are those around him who may not have forgiven him yet. I hope his demons stay at rest and he can build the life he always intended to. I hope my family does not have to endure more tragedy.

I hope I come to terms for the way that I feel. Being a criminal justice major in college, I thought I had my opinions on prison and convicts and rehabilitation all figured out. But at that young of an age I hadn’t experienced enough of the dark side of life to know better. I didn’t know the anger of someone being taken from me. I didn’t know a person who had committed a crime, went to prison and had brine a better person for it. Sure I have seen the documentaries, watched in depth interviews with serial offenders on how suddenly they are a new person. But when all those things happen or are the people you love- your view changes. I want desperately to pretend this never happened. Haven’t we been through enough with my tia’s death? Why must I face the reality if this. Call me chicken, foolish, I don’t care for this moment, today, I am just going to be happy he is home.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Sinner Saturdays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sinner Saturdays: Mama I’m Coming Home

  1. Alaina says:

    That’s a tough one…having never been on the other side and being an attorney, I would struggle with this, too. But for now, just be grateful that he is rehabilitated and out and happy that he can restart his life.

Leave a Reply

