Caleb Eats: corn dogs

20110419-013959.jpg

I’m trying to have fun and recreate foods that kids love that I don’t feel so guilty feeding them.

I got an old sandwich maker from my mom and decided to make some fun corn muffin dogs for my boys.

I found a recipe I could easily work with thanks to acozykitchen.com. I modified it to fit my taste and voila! Lunch is served. I served ours with some veggie chips and fruit. I always serve the fruit as the “dessert” part if any meal because my kids love fruit and will eat it all before their “meal”.

Here’s the recipe:

1/3c whole wheat flour
1/3c ap flour
1/2c corn meal
1tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 egg
1/2 c soy milk ( any milk is fine)
1 tbsp agave ( honey or sugar or none is fine)
4 turkey dogs or whatever type you like

I mixed everything in 1 bowl. Cut each dog into fours. I poured the batter into each well of the sandwich maker. I added 3 chunks of dog into each one. Poured a little more batter directly over each dog. I shut the lid and they cooked up in less than 5 minutes! From start to finish I had lunch done in less than 30 minutes!!

I am loving this sandwich maker and so are the boys. If you don’t have a sandwich maker turn this into regular corn dogs or muffins. Have fun and let the kids add the dogs to the batter if making in a sandwich maker or muffins.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caleb Eats: corn dogs

  1. Alaina says:

    That sounds delicious! I do love me some corn dogs, but they aren’t always so kind to the whole weight thing…might have to try this!

    • They ended up being more like muffins but they were just as delicious! And because you control the ingredients you don’t feel so naughty. But I like that their not fried that ends up always being a win for me.

Leave a Reply

