It just is what it is.

Here we are approaching 2 years since my aunts death. I am pretty sure now there will never be a time when I don’t think about her when dealing with death.

I am at the funeral of a childhood friend. I wanted to go up there and say goodbye but I panicked. I remembered being at my aunts funeral not being able to be near her casket. Then I remembered the last funeral I attended at this church in my hometown. I wasn’t afraid then. I went to see my friend and I remember running out if the church.

I have never remembered what he looked like and honestly I am glad. I know my brain is protecting my heart. That friend shot himself in the head. This friend I know will look okay. He will look like the boy I remember. But I just can’t go.

I am sitting in my car debating whether or not to go to the cemetery. These things are so hard. I want to go. I want to say good bye. But I find it hard to breathe. I am slowly panicking. I don’t know if it’s solely the PPA or a combination of that and the trauma of my aunts death. I panic because I remember the pain I felt at her funeral like it was yesterday. I panic because I think of her children who are growing up without their mom. I panic for the fear my boys will grow up without me.

All I know is death, dying, and coping with it all will never be the same. I know now her death has changed who I am and who I was. At my friends service his ex wife said to their son ” God has a plan. Even if we don’t know it or like it, God has a plan.”

I wish I was strong enough to live on those words. In time it will get easier but til then- I sit in my car barely breathing. Trying to put it in drive.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It just is what it is.

  1. Alaina says:

    I know what you mean, and I feel your pain. It doesn’t ever truly get any easier, but you just have to have faith and pray. Pray for strength. That’s what I do.

Leave a Reply

