Cinco De Mayo

I find it funny that the hot topic the last 10 years or so has been Americans complaining about illegal immigrants and “losing” our roots to foreigners, and yet we are all primed to celebrate cinco de mayo.

I mean it’s not a big holiday in it’s native land, but here it is a party at restaurants, people have BBQ’s at their home. Cities an towns hold festivals an celebrations using tax payer monies. I’m just saying….

Personally I think we would and should celebrate any day that encourages drinking margarita’s and gorging on nachos and guacamole! In fact we should start looking into celebrating more Mexican holidays!

So if you are celebrating big or small here’s one of my favorite indulgences on such a day.

Nachos!

Ingredients:

Sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
Beef chorizo, 1 pkg
1 lb of ground beef
Pinto beans whole or refried
Pico de gallo (the salsa not seasoning)
Guacamole
Sour cream
Your favorite corn chips

Preheat oven to 400*
Lightly spray a baking sheet with spray oil (this is So it is easier to clean later)

Cook the ground beef and chorizo. I season my ground beef with a seasoning salt and ground black pepper. Mix together and set aside.

Lay a single layer of chips on the baking sheet. Followed by the beans then meat mixture. Repeat until you have used all your meat mixture. For me it comes out to roughly 3 layers.

Bake until cheese is bubbly and golden. Top with pico de gallo. Serve with a dollop of sour cream and guacamole.

Enjoy!

For more Mexican food treats look for my post on the michelada and guacamole.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

