I Need Your Help!!

People I need your help! I caught my son trying to sneak a peek at my lady bits while I was in the shower!! Let me say this. Since he was 2.5/3 years old I have not allowed him in my room when I am changing. I felt that since he was aware of his own body and becoming aware of the differences in our bodies that it was time. But sometimes I have to shower when it’s just me and the boys and sometimes he comes into the bathroom to talk to me while I’m in the shower. We have glass doors so he can see through them obviously.

Anyway back to my point. He is becoming increasingly curious as to what mommy’s have if they don’t have a penis. I always considered myself lucky because being a mom of 2 boys, my hubs would have to endure most of “the birds and bees” convo in our home.

But now that it is here, I want to be a part of it. I want my boys to grow up with a healthy sense of sexuality and gender. I want them to feel comfortable coming to me and talking to me throughout their life. I have realized that type of relationship probably starts now, with this first convo.
So here is where you come in. If you have had this conversation with your child, how did it go? Did you use a book? Which one? How far into the conversation did you go? Was it just about gender differences anatomically? Please people I’m flying blind here!!! Thanks in advance:)

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Need Your Help!!

  1. Kris Kendrick says:

    I don’t pretend to be an expert on these things. My first inclination would be to have an easy discussion regarding privacy, and what privacy means. I wouldn’t focus on the anatomical curiousity right now – I think his curiosity is natural. The privacy issue is important, and will be for the rest of his life.

Leave a Reply

