What’s your scent?

You know that scent that you can pick out of any room? That smell that take you to a memory that just grabs you in some way? Reminds you of a person you thought would just be a passerby in this book of life? Yea- I smelled mine today.

A customer came in and I slid to the register to help him and just and he reached out to grab the change from my hand I caught a whiff. Oh a sweet pleasant whiff, and immediately HE popped into my mind.

The man I dated in college oh so briefly. He was my first guy I dated after my high school boyfriend had broken up with me. He was so fun to hang out with- I honestly think we would still be friends if we hung around the same circle. I still see him sometimes and it’s never awkward. We exchange small talk and move on.

But I never thought I would remember him every time I smell his cologne on another man. But I do. I don’t have feelings for him, I don’t ling for him. I just remember that time in my life. Dating, fumbling through what it means to hook up, exploring your sexuality. He reminds me of that and that scent reminds me of him. He was nice. I’m glad my transition guy into adulthood was a nice guy.

Do you have a smell like that? Share please so I don’t feel so weird!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s your scent?

  1. Mel says:

    I have one too. You are not weird! 🙂

Leave a Reply

