Fight Club!!

So the first rule of fight club is don’t tell the authorities that mommy and daddy let you beat each other up!!! What? Yes on the radio today a lady wrote in and asked the host to ask the listeners if this was wrong. She and her husband allow their teenage boys, ages 13-17, to manage their own arguments. Up to and including fighting- I’m talking fist fights. Not like MMA style or actual boxing but if the argument comes to blows they don’t stop it right away.

Um lady your crazy! She said she wanted her sons to learn how to manage disagreements and become strong men.

Lady, violence is never the answer. Even mild violence. I would never allow my boys to settle an argument that way. To become strong, successful men, they need to learn to manage conflict in the real world they need to learn that duking it out is assault brotha!

I really just don’t understand this woman’s logic. I agree that young men need to learn to manage conflict but with words and self discipline. At work you cannot hit someone when they do something wrong. In a group or social club you cannot hit someone for wronging you. The lesson your sons need to learn is that 2 wrongs don’t make a right!

Besides I can’t ever imagine these two cuties hitting each other!!! So what do you think? Will you let your kids fight each other?

20110628-092010.jpg

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fight Club!!

  1. Alaina says:

    Ummm….NO. No freaking way. That’s craziness. So she’s just raising her sons to be assholes? The kind of guys who think it’s ok to end a disagreement with a fight? Yeah…I can see that going really well for her. I’m with you!

Leave a Reply

