Caleb Eats: Crepes!

20110714-090332.jpg

I love pancakes. I love love love waffles. But sometimes I want something light and easy and super quick to make. Caleb wakes up starving!!! So I either have to give him some milk and a cereal bar to hold him until breakfast or make something fast.

That’s one reason why I love Crepes. They are super quick. The are lighter than pancakes but can be eaten like pancakes, and the leftovers can be used in Aiden’s lunch box! Win win win:)

I make a simple crepe using whole wheat flour. I don’t add any sweetner or sugar because wheat is naturally sweet to me. Plus if we use the leftovers for lunch I prefer them not to be so sweet.

This morning I made them as a side and we topped them with yogurt, strawberry preserves, and almond slivers. Yummy!

We also sometimes add egg and ham and make them into breakfast burritos.

I like them with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar.

For lunch ideas I layer turkey lunch meat and cheese. Roll up and then cut into sushi sized bites. There is nutella with strawberries and bananas. Peanut butter and jelly. Turkey, avocado and cheese. Alfredo chicken and broccoli. Anything you can think up you can do. Cream cheese, chives, jalepeno, and asparagus with ham…. An all time fave!

So make some today and have fun all week!

This recipe is from Better Homes and Garden cookbook. I only subbed whole wheat flour for AP flour.

In a bowl combine 2 beaten eggs, 1.5 C of milk,1 C of ww flour, 1 tbsp canola oil and a pinch of kosher salt. Beat until well combined. Heat a lightly greased pan. I had my pan on medium. I used a 9 in non stick pan from the Food Network. Remove from heat and add 4 tbsp of batter and swirl into a thin circle. Return to heat and brown. Here they tell you to only cook one side but I prefer to flip it over an just get a few brown spots on the other side. I line a baking sheet with parchment and flip my Crepes onto there and stack as they cool. Repeat until all batter is gone.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in KiddieTalk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caleb Eats: Crepes!

  1. Alaina says:

    I love love LOVE pancakes! And the crepes look delicious!

Leave a Reply

