Mexican Coffee

20110816-093152.jpg

Mmm Mexican chocolate. I was never a big chocolate fan. I rarely ate chocolate and hardly ever had chocolate milk or hot cocoa. But Mexican hot chocolate? Now that I loved. I used to have it cold and frothy every morning at my cousins house before school. With it’s mild chocolate flavor, cinnamon sugary frothy goodness, I couldn’t get enough.

A long time ago I visited this little coffee house in San Luis Obispo CA. I wish I could remember the name but it fails me now , it’s been soooo long. Anyway I was so intrigued and excited when I saw a Mexican coffee on the menu.

I’m not talking about coffee’s grown in Latin America but actual coffee blended with glorious Mexican hot chocolate!! I absolutely had to try this. I have been hooked ever since! So creamy and rich. And when made with a Latin American coffee such as Starbucks Guatemala or Shade Grown Mexico? Magnifico!!

So brew some coffee as you normally would. Heat milk (or soy as I use) to almost boiling. Be careful not to scorch the milk. In a blender add the chocolate and a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. If you wanna add a little extra somethin somethin? Add a 1/2 tsp of chili powder too!
Add your milk to the blender and put a dish towel over the top just in case it tries to come out the top! Pulse until the chocolate is all mixed in.
Fill a mug half way with your desired coffee and the second half with the hot chocolate. Sprinkle with a little cinnamon and enjoy!

*side note: traditionally the chocolate is made in a bug clay pitcher with a mashed type mixer. The chocolate is pulverized my hand. Either method works fine. I like the blender because it is quick, easy and gets the milk super frothy. And you follow my tweets then you know I love milk foam!!

I hope you try some today! The chocolate can be found in the Hispanic food section of your local grocery store. If not then try your local Mexican bakery or food store. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. If nothing else make the chocolate and enjoy plain.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Coffee Talk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

