When did it happen?

Do you remember when Calista Flockhart first came onto the scene? Way back in the 90’s? Remember everyone raising a big ol stink over how thin she is? I was watching a rerun of the show Brothers and Sisters and noting she is still just as skinny. I look at her an think she is pretty skinny but models are even more skinny. There are actresses even skinnier than her. When did this skinny thing happen?

I thought the whole waif thing was out? But then I think about Jennifer Aniston. Remember in those original friends episodes where she was “thicker”? She was still skinny, no one would ever call her fat. But now she is stick thin. She is beautiful both ways. I am not hiding anyone here. I just started looking at then vs now and wondering when in the hell did women stop eating?!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When did it happen?

  1. Alaina says:

    You’ve got me…no clue why it’s acceptable or even something that people admire. And it sets kids up for standards that just aren’t attainable or reasonable.

    • I agree I worry about what we are telling kids about weight and in the same manner when we talk about obesity are we telling them it’s hopeless? I have learned I have to stop negative self talk around my boys- they are susceptible too

  2. I agree too. I loved those old friends episodes, and thought Jennifer Aniston looked better just a little less skinny. Calista Flockhart always looked unnaturally skinny to me. I’d love to see a more realistic weight (and still very beautiful) on female celebs!

    • Omg SbuxMel commented on my blog! Hi melody! I was also thinking of times when models had curves too. Cindy Crawford was thin but not unnaturally thin like models today. It’s kind of sad to think that’s what people value. I was never one to try to “fit in” but I began to notice my own brainwashing after putting on some lbs after my having my boys.

Leave a Reply

