Holiday Time Brings Out- The Worst!

Normally holiday time is my favorite time to work at Starbucks. But this year is definitely testing my cheer! It’s hard enough being pregnant and feeling blah but having a whole new staff, assistant store manager, and rude ass customers is the worst!

I went in Sunday on my day off to help because they were getting slammed and needed an extra body. I had o take Aiden because when I got the call I was out and about with him. I also was not wearing an outfit I wanted the public to see me in. There was nothing wrong with it but it was my “lounging around the house” leggings and oversized shirt outfit. I get there am it’s a disaster! I quickly boot my dt person of bar and take over. 2 hours into this madness I get a customer asking if the pumpkin spice is part of the BOGO promotion. It’s not but I was in the giving spirit so I said yes I can make sure it is for you. They order like 4 or 5 drinks. When they pull up to the window I have half the order done and my register person comes over. She ha been helping out up front because cafe was busier at that moment. She hadn’t hear me tell them the pumpkin latte would be discounted. Immediately when she gives them the total they start screaming at her. I let them know I will fix the total. They calm down.

Then she politely let’s them know “for future reference it’s not a holiday beverage” then they begin yelling again.

Then the mom of these twentysomething kids begins pointing we finger and screaming at my employee that she is rude and disrespectful. So of course I step in. The lady is ridiculous. Once I tell her I’m the manager she begins telling me I am a loser and need to get a new job because I “suck” and need a lesson in customer service because I told her I would speak to Gaby later about how she spoke to her then told her to have a nice day.

As I return to making drinks she says ” what a stupid fucking bitch” the widow is still open so I turn smile and say happy holidays.

Then 30 minutes later I leave. I return to my day off so pissed that I allowed that wan to get under my skin. So pissed that there are people that feel they can speak to another human beig that way. I wish I was one of those people that didn’t care and had turned around and told her off. But that is not appropriate. I had all new employees and I had to show them that even though that woman was completely out of line, we must never react or act in a way that would diminish the company or the standards that we hold ourselves to.

I did end up telling the woman to please pull forward and leave since her order was complete. Ugh happy freaking holidays!!!! Sometimes I hate people- like her!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Coffee Talk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday Time Brings Out- The Worst!

  1. Alaina says:

    Ugh that is awful! Some people are just so incredibly rude. You are far more patient than I could be!

  2. Heather says:

    she obviously has never worked in retail! people are insane.

Leave a Reply

