Politically Too Correct!

Yesterday I was listening to the radio where they were talking about a school that overturned the student body’s decision to name their new mascot a cougar. I don’t know where this happened or why they needed to pick a new mascot. I do know the administration was worried about offending older women who have been dubbed “cougar” by society.

Seriously?! That’s what the administration is worried about? I mean come on it’s not like they were going to use a picture of a middle aged woman in a miniskirt and stilettos on all their school t shirts! It’s a cat or goodness sake!

I believe in being respectful and tactful of other people. But when is enough enough? Let’s just venture down this slippery slope. Next we will have no mascots because it’s all offensive to someone somewhere. Then we won’t have sports in schools anymore because not everyone can make the team or the competitiveness is offensive to nonathletes. Where does it end?

Many schools had to cut the arts programs, some schools have cut back sports, and this school’s biggest concern is what some women in the community who probably aren’t even “cougars” might be offended by the word. Give me a break!

Ok rant over.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

