Last Will and Testament

Last week I had to write my last will and testament for a class. This was a serious assignment for my probate class so I had to actually go through everything and evaluate what I wanted.

Of course most things go to my husband but what do I leave my kids and how to I explain the meaning? If I die before my mom and kids are grow she gets my wedding dress with instructions to make handkerchiefs for my boys on their wedding day. I don’t have daughters so I thought giving my sons a piece of me on their special day would be sweet.

My Sid gets my purse collection. She was thrilled! Aiden gets my wedding ring and diamond earrings. When I married my husband I went from not wanting kids to can’t wait and aiden being my first I want him to have it. Caleb gets my mother’s necklace that has all our birthstones on it because it was a gift from my mom when he was born. Callen gets my pearl necklace I wore on my wedding day.

The hard part- who gets my kids? Obviously if I die and my husband gets them. But if we die together or around the same time- my mom. My mom is super close to my kids and she will raise them the way I want. If she has passed my sister. It’s sad to think about these things. It was hard. Knowing the reality of what happens when a mother dies too young, it makes it more real than if you never knew.

I’ve said it a million times but my greatest fear since my aunt died was dying before my kids had time to grow up. I don’t want to think about it but I live with it everyday. Everyday I think of Alex and how proud my Tia would be of her. How her heart must be heavy because her mom an best friend isn’t here to share in her journey in college. Every time I think of Vincent and worry will he be okay? What will happen when he is 18 and on his own? I hope my boys never know their pain. I pray this is the worst loss I have to live through.

This assignment was tough.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

