Offensive or Honest?

Sunday I was heading to the park for a birthday party. The area the park was located in was a predominantly white part of town upper middle class and up. The truck in front of me had a sticker on it’s back window that said “don’t breed em if you can’t feed em”

Yikes. I though that’s awfully blunt. Then I thought kind of offensive. Then I thought seriously? I get where this person is coming from but seriously? Even as I write this I have no idea what to say or think? Yes it’s frustrating that there are people that seem to have kids regardless of their ability to afford basic care for them, I speak of people I personally know who have state this. But then I think about the cutter battle going on for insurance companies to pay for birth control. Of course this isn’t an easy fix but could it help? Would it hurt? The people that oppose it for their spiritual beliefs can’t then turn around because others don’t go on birth control to stop having babies for the same reason.

Then I think of people who have been dramatically affected by this economy. for some who haven’t had to feel the bite this economy has taken out of most families you simply can’t just a family of 4 or more by the cover.

I think that sticker oversimplified what’s going on. I think that sticker would offend me if I was a parent unable to solely provide for my family because of this economy or perhaps some bad luck due in part of my own doing. Regardless of the reason people need assistance, the fact that it’s there to help those in need is great. The fact that we make it easy for people to work that system is bad, regardless of the number of kids they have.

And on a closing note, when I finally realized what that sticker was saying to me, I wanted to chase him down and ask him where his prochoice sticker was. Because he is saying hey if you can’t afford don’t have them.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

