Bugging Out: Starbucks ends use of cochineal dye

Ok so Starbucks uses crushed up beetles to make your strawberry frappuccino bright red and pretty. What?! I feel so deceived so used so taken advantage of! How dare they!

Yup how dare they take an ingredient used in your favorite yogurt, juice drink and oh so much more!

I for one think this is stupid. Again people this is my personal opinion and has no reflection on Starbucks, my store or how employees feel about this. I remember when we first changed the way we make frappuccinos- I actually got a call from a customer yelling at me because it was not our decision to make for her- the removing of artificial ingredients from the frappuccino line up. Now we have vegans pissed off because they have bugs in their drinks. It seems like we can never win. No matter what we do.

It can be so discouraging. I’m glad I’m not currently in store to hear all the gossip from customers. And if those vegans think all bugs are gone when they purée the strawberries in the first place then I don’t know what to say to them other than wake up and smell the coffee!

I don’t care if the they use beetles or beet juice. What we really should do is atop dyeing the stuff. Then when their frappuccinos aren’t a pretty pink color or their strawberry lemonades are more purple than red they know what real strawberries look like!

Bah hum bug from me:/

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Coffee Talk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

