A Slippery Slope

I guess I’m not really surprised that North Carolina passed amendment one. What does surprise me is no one is upset about the idea of civil unions being banned as well. As a woman married to a man not in a church, not by a member of the clergy, not in the eyes of someone’s God, I am scared.

I am scared that one day my marriage will be considered against the law. I had a friend tell me on Facebook that I’m not married I’m in a civil union. No I have a marriage certificate thank you. I committed my heart and soul to my husband. We said vows we plan to keep the rest of our lives.

Marriage is between a man and a woman but how long until it’s only a recognized union before God? So unless I believe in your God I cannot get married? Marriage is So many things to so many people. There has been talk about just creating laws that give same sex partners marriage rights without being married. That’s not going to happen. Laws that are necessary to make that happen aren’t going to change anytime soon.

I find it awful that any one person believes that they have the right to tell me I’m not married. Or that I cannot get married. Allowing same sex marriage isn’t going to make homosexuality contagious. It’s not like people are going to say oh well now I can legally get married so I might as well be gay. That’s just absurd. It is no more chosen than I chose to be heterosexual.

The Bible says man shall not lay with mankind. But doesn’t it also say judge not lest the be judged? A sin is a sin in God’s eyes right? No one sin is worse than another? So do you judge your fellow man and commit a sin or do you allow your God to be the judge? I’m not good at quoting the bible but I know somewhere it also says that man looks at another mans appearance and God looks in a mans heart when it comes to acceptance. If you are denying, judging, hating, then what truly is in your heart?

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Slippery Slope

  1. Alaina says:

    As an attorney, I get so irritated when people think of marriage only in the relgious way. While, yes, I was married in the Catholic church, and I wanted to be married in the church, I also believe that marriage is a legal contract. It unites people under the law, gives certain rights and connects them legally. And it’s a huge deal. I cannot believe your friend who said you are in a civil union. She must be mistaken in how marriage really originated. Just frustrates me (if you can’t tell)

    • It is so frustrating to hear that people think of me as not married. I too was raised Catholic and feel very comfortable going to church there. But with respect to my husband who also was raised catholic but doesn’t go to church, we decided a non religious ceremony suited us. Why is that so hard for people to understand? Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. mamacravings says:

    I hear ya! Freedom of religion means ALL religions and beliefs (obviously as long as they are not harming others).

    I am Christian and have studied what God says on homosexuality pretty extensively. One of my best friends is gay. He is also Christian. As I studied, I found that homosexuality was “condemned” in the Old Testament right along with rules against braiding your hair and mixing fabrics. God asked the Israelites to set themselves apart. They wanted to get into the Promised Land, but because of their lack of faith and continual sin, they ended up wandering in the desert for 40 years. At the end of the whole “don’t lay with man as you lay with women” situation, He said something to the effect of “so that you may enter the Promised Land.”

    As far as I know, Jesus says nothing against homosexuality.

    People have used the Bible to justify horrible things: The Crusades, multiple terrorist attacks, slavery. I think it is the same with homosexuality. The Bible was used wrongly as an instrument of hate.

    God is love.

    Marriage did not start in a church or with fancy signed papers. It was a spoken agreement between families. That anyone would say you’re not married, is ridiculous!

    Anyway, I’m really sorry you’re going through these frustrations. 😦

    • Thank you for commenting! I too believe the Bible has been used to justify atrocities against mankind. To the point I think a lot of it’s purpose and teachings are lost.

Leave a Reply

