Why is it so hard?

I am breastfeeding. This is the first time I am able to exclusively breast feed. But it hasn’t been easy. Callen falls asleep a lot. He takes at least an hour to nurse. 2 nights he has been up crying for 4 hours straight wanting to nurse over and over because he is so sleepy he can’t wake up enough to nurse properly.

I lost it last night. Around 4:45 my husband got up because Callen wouldn’t stop crying. He walks into his room and finds me rocking him sobbing. I couldn’t help it anymore. Breastfeeding is supposed to bond a mother and child. I feel like I don’t get to spend quality time with Callen because I’m timing this nursing, logging which side, making sure he stays latched. God when does it get easier?

I know the first week of breastfeeding is the hardest. I cried myself to sleep last night and woke crying again. I gave the hubs a bottle of pumped milk last night and that’s how he finally got baby to sleep. Poor guy is so exhausted he is sleeping and I can’t bring myself to wake him. I know we will find our groove. I know it will get easier. But right now there is no light only fog.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why is it so hard?

  1. Rotating starting sides is great – but I wouldn’t focus on timing anything right now. It gets better. If you can learn to nurse while laying on your side and sleep while he nurses that can help. I never learned that trick – Ian was a football-hold kinda nurser. Hope you have a good electric pump – tandem pumping is the way to go with that! xxoo

    • We are a football hold kinda team too! He hates the cross cradle and he falls asleep too fast that way. I tried the laying down thing when he woke while I was napping and it was nice but no way I could do that at night- too easy to fall asleep. I know it’s only been a week and it takes time I just figured it wouldn’t be this much work!!

  2. Alaina says:

    Aw sweetie….you are in my prayers. I didn’t nusre, but I had pretty severe PPD after Aubrey. So the crying and not knowing what to do thing, I know all too well. Hang in there, Momma!

    • Alaina Thank you for the prayers. It’s seems so much harder this time and I feel so much pressure because we dis so well at the hospital but being home with 2 other kids and being pulled 40 different directions is tough!

  3. hslagle says:

    The best website I found for help with nursing in Dr. Jack Newman’s website: Here is a great article on latch: http://www.breastfeedinginc.ca/content.php?pagename=doc-WL He has great tips on his website if you have other issues. You can do it! You will find your groove:-) One day he will just latch on by himself and you will be like whoa how did that happen? It will get better!

  4. hslagle says:

    HI, I saw some other comments you wrote, and I wanted to give some other tips:-) I just want to help you and other Moms be successful at breastfeeding. (Although it is natural, it is not easy;-)
    1. Having other active children while nursing can be hard. I tried to have fun things he could do while I was nursing. I also read to them while I nursed. Your oldest child looks old enough to turn pages and hold a book while you read. This helps them to feel close to you during the nursing experience too.
    2. Try to nurse a ton during the day. I feel like the more you feed them in the day, the less they wake at night (now of course in these initially weeks the baby’s schedule is just so jacked up that you won’t see a difference, but soon you will).
    3. It is pretty warm out right now, so try to nurse without having your baby as bundled. I would always nurse on the right, change a diaper, than nurse on the opposite side. This helped to wake him/her up. I also swaddled using rectangular receiving blankets, I always wrapped them in 2 of them to keep the blanket on. This helped to keep them secure so they didn’t startle awake.
    4. I would also try to keep them awake by rubbing their foot etc. Another good way to keep them awake and increase the amount of fatty milk you get them is called breast compressions. http://www.breastfeedinginc.ca/content.php?pagename=doc-BC This basically helps more milk to come out at the end (like a greater stream) so your baby nurses longer. (This is one of my biggest recommendations, as not only does the baby nurse longer, but he will get the fattier hind milk which will help him to be full longer:-)

Leave a Reply

