Kiddie Bites: Chocolate Muffins

20120721-124043.jpg

It has been a long time since I posted about food. I rarely make muffins that are old school sugary white flour concoctions. Our logic around sugary foods for our kids is if we rarely give them full sugar foods they won’t ever want something so sweet. So far it’s worked for us, although Caleb loves sweets almost as much as carbs! So I thought I would give in today and make chocolate chip muffins. Surely I can make one at least with whole wheat flour and cut back sugar right? Yes!
I adapted this recipe from my wonderful Betty Crocker App that is my guidepost for a lot of things I want to try and change.

1c rolled oats
1 1/3 c buttermilk or milk/vinegar
(I make my buttermilk by adding vinegar to regular milk and letting it sit 5 minutes)
1/4 c canola oil
1 egg
1/2 c raw sugar
3/4 c whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 c all purpose flour
1/2 c unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 c ground flaxseed (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
1 t baking soda
1 t vanilla
1/4 t salt
1/3 c mini dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 ( I did mini muffins and set oven to 360) line muffin tin

If making sour milk do so now. When milk is ready add oats an let sit 5 minutes. If using buttermilk add oats and let sit 5 minutes. While oats are soaking, mix wet ingredients in mixing bowl. In a smaller bowl mix dry ingredients except chocolate chips. Add oat/milk mixture to wet bowl and stir. Begin adding dry ingredients a little at a time. Once combined fold in chocolate chips. Divide evenly among muffin tin. I filled 2/3 of the way. Then bake 10 minutes for mini muffins and 15-20 for regular sized muffins.

The kids loved these and quickly gobbled them up. I’m on an oat kick and just love biting into chewy oats. If you are like that then recipe is right up your alley. The original calls for a cup of crushed fiber one cereal instead of oats. You could easily do that instead. I hope you try this one out- you won’t be disappointed!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Kiddie Bites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kiddie Bites: Chocolate Muffins

  1. gold price says:

    I recently posted a recipe for jumbo butterscotch-oatmeal muffins , and mentioned that the hubby and I aren’t butterscotch fans. So we’ve never tried that version, although we hear they’re quite good.When I make this recipe for the hubby and me, I swap in some chocolatey substitutions and it tastes like a completely different muffin. But still heavenly. And heart-healthy, with all that oatmeal. And butter.Can’t decide between the two? Mix up the batter, and divide it between two bowls before you add your chips and toffee. Then just make a half-and-half batch. Taste test. See which ones you like better. And pass on the info.Enquiring minds want to know.Jumbo Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip MuffinsMakes 9-10 muffins2 c. quick oats1 2/3 c. low-fat buttermilk¾ c. brown sugar¼ c. granulated sugar2 eggs, lightly beaten1 tsp. vanilla½ c. butter (1 stick), melted and cooled1 c. flour1½ tsp. baking powder½ tsp. baking soda¼ tsp. salt1½ c. chocolate chips chips½ c. chocolate-covered toffee bits, plus more for sprinkling1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.2. In a large bowl, combine oats and sugars. Pour buttermilk over mixture, stir to combine, and let sit 5 minutes.3. In a small bowl, combine eggs and vanilla. Poor cooled butter into egg mixture and combine. Pour butter and egg mixture into oat mixture, and stir to combine.4. In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Pour flour mixture into oat mixture. Stir until just combined.5. Add chocolate chips and toffee bits, stirring gently.6. Place muffin liners in jumbo muffin tins, and fill about ¾ full. Sprinkle with additional toffee. 7. Bake about 20 minutes, or until golden. Let cool 5 minutes before removing from pans, then let cool on racks.

Leave a Reply

