Back to School Coffeeqween style

Well if you are a parent you undoubtedly know about bento lunches. You also probably don’t have time to scour the interwebs trying to find things, ideas, lunch combinations your kid will actually eat. This year I have two kids going to school. And while both preschool and kindergarten provide breakfast and lunch, I learned with my first that’s not necessarily a good thing.
Since my kids generally don’t eat a lot of junk food or fatty fried foods, eating them at school can mean tummy troubles at home. Don’t get me wrong we have wonderful schools that care very much for our kids but some of the things allowed by government guidelines for school meals is not up to the Smith household.
So we have been doing bento type lunches for a few years but Caleb can be picky. I actually started already by utilizing ice cube trays and cafeteria type plates to try out bento lunch combinations for the kids. I have found Caleb is eating a lot more now that he is getting to eat with Aiden. I am hoping that sticks when he goes to preschool.
My idea is to create a collection of pictures of their lunches. Each night we can sit down and pick out our lunch for the next day and they can help me put it together. I figure pictures will work great with Caleb who doesn’t know the names of some of the food items and for Aiden it will help him with new items we are going to be adding to our lineup.
My goal this year is to add more veggies and if that means dips then I am gonna get on the dip bandwagon. Look for recipes coming soon on things I try and succeed in. I am also planning quick breakfast items for them to grab and go. They are huge bagel fans so that’s easy peasy but as I type I have carrot oat muffins cooling. And Aiden being Aiden sneaked one before crashing for the night and said they were a go. I think I need to play with the recipe one more time before posting. I subbed oat flour and honey and it could use one more tweak. But I digress.
Here is the first lunch try out (well that I remembered to photograph) we had banana cubes, swiss cheese, wheat thins, ham and turkey roll ups, carrot sticks with ranch dip, celery sticks with peanut butter, and some grapes. Not too shabby. Caleb ate almost all of this and well Aiden had seconds.

20120807-000244.jpg

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to School Coffeeqween style

  1. Alaina says:

    What a cute way to serve lunches! I love it!

Leave a Reply

