It Only Takes a Second

20120904-091728.jpg

Caleb feel into the pool. He fell at night with no life jacket. Luckily my brother happened to turn around and see it happen and jumped in and got him. I saw it out of the corner of my eye and when I turned to look I thought it was Aiden. When I realized Aiden was standing next to the pool I ran I shoved Callen into someone else’s hands, I don’t even know who, and I ran. It was literally 3 seconds and I was right next to the pool but it scared the shit out of me.

Caleb was and is fine. He didn’t really swallow much water. I’m not kidding when I say he was in the water for a second. He and Aiden were fighting over a ball and Aiden pushed Caleb out of the way and he couldn’t stop himself from losing his balance and fell in the pool.

Caleb has been raised around the pool. He knows safety rules. Not to play around the pool etc. but lately he has been testing us and those rules. We have stayed firm ad said he definitely needs swim lessons. I’m kicking myself in the ass for not getting that done this summer.

I’ve been crying since Sunday when this happened. Everyone else thinks I’m silly because he is fine and there’s nothing to worry about. People my baby fell in the pool- I’m allowed to be upset.

I put him in our bed that night because I couldn’t be away from him. I am or ever thankful my brother acted so quickly. I am thankful that Caleb is fine. I am thankful for all my babies and the life that I lead. I am forever grateful.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Only Takes a Second

  1. Alaina says:

    Oh wow. I couldn’t even imagine. I would be the same way. I am so glad that he is okay!

  2. Pingback: It only takes a second | Swim4Life

Leave a Reply

