Alex’s Baby Shower

Last Saturday my mother and I threw my cousin Alex a baby shower. She chose a nautical theme for her little Kaden and I must say I loved it!

I had so much fun planning and creating the decor, snacks, favors and such.

20120918-102943.jpg
My cricut obsession is coming full circle now. From just tinkering around crafting for me to this fun party. I used the Life’s a Beach cartridge. I even used it to cut the cake decorations out of sugar sheets!

20120918-103124.jpg
I found little beach buckets at Party City and my mom found old school cracker jack boxes at Walmart. We also added goldfish crackers and I made a rose scented sea salt scrub that we put in small mason jars. I chose rose scented oil because my Tia Andrea loved roses and always use to say she smelled like roses. This was my way of including her and remembering her on Alex’s big day.

20120918-103359.jpg
I found cute plain hanging decorations at party city and added nautical themed die cuts to each. I made candy coated Oreos and marshmallows. I filled hulled out strawberries with chocolate and made a copycat version of Macaroni Grill’s Carmela’s Chicken Rigatoni. We played the baby shower version of price is right and laughed and cooed over all the cute baby stuff! The party was held upstairs at my moms. When guests walked in downstairs they were guided to the dining room where we had a scrapbooking station set up. Each guest was instructed to create a page for Alex and I must say it came out so cute! We also had a message for mommy in a bottle where guests could give well wishes for baby or advice for Alex and Rudy. We also included a little poem asking for books instead of cards where each guest could write something special to Kaden. All in all it was a success and I cannot wait to meet Kaden and give him lots of hugs and kisses!
Oh and before I forget the invites I ordered from Etsy shop She’s TuTu Cute invitations and more. She did a great job and turn around was quick! Once she sent the digital file I uploaded it at Costco and had them printed up and ready within hours.

20120918-104655.jpg

20120918-104716.jpg

20120918-104725.jpg

20120918-104733.jpg

20120918-104741.jpg

20120918-104752.jpg

20120918-104759.jpg

20120918-104806.jpg

20120918-104821.jpg

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in craftyqween and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

