Lead.

Last week was my first week back at work and Starbucks welcomed me by sending me to Houston for our global leadership conference. This is my 4th conference and the best so far.

20121009-090405.jpg

The breakout sessions gave me some real starting points on how I can reconnect with my partners around customer service and how I can teach my supervisors to coach in the moment. But the speakers this year were where the inspiration came from. And not just from Howard Schultz himself. Nancy Koehn from Harvard had me wanting to jump out of my seat and take on the world. The Reverend Calvin Butts reminded me to find the love for my store and community. To look at the big picture and keep that image in mind as I take on the issues at ground level.

20121009-090941.jpg

Then Howard came out to introduce the most special guest ever. There was speculation all week on who it would be: Oprah, Maroon 5, Katy Perry, John Legend…this list goes on and on. But in the end it was the only person whose voice could inspire and the only person whose songs are right in line with what this conference was about: Ms Alicia Keys!!!!! I died. I seriously died. I can still hear her belting out Girl on Fire and I am tearing up. Her message was simple but was exactly what I needed to hear. Starbucks will never know just how much all these people touched my heart and my soul!

20121009-091356.jpg

I still have so much more to say but it’s too much for one post. Next up community service day. Thank you Starbucks!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in Coffee Talk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lead.

  1. Wow, sounds like Starbucks is a great company to work for. As a student of all things leadership and human assets related, it is great to read about examples like this were there seems to be a great relationship between front line and “corporate” or head office personnel. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you! Starbucks is very much about the people in the store on the front lines. It’s an amazing company and no one pays me to say that or write these posts. They are just how I feel.

  2. Alaina says:

    That’s awesome! It’s so great to go to conferences like that and walk away inspired.

Leave a Reply

