Suspended.

I don’t even know where to begin. But yesterday I had to pick up Aiden from school. He was suspended for fighting. Excuse me while I now my head in shame. I felt like the worst parent ever picking him up from school. Aiden gets frustrated and can sometimes push his brother or throw his sweater across the room but push a kid onto the ground and getting on top of him and hitting him? I do not know this kid!
He says he was defending his friend because the kid took his hat but I told him it didn’t matter that it is never acceptable to put your hands on another person intending to do harm. Never!
By the time I got home the hubs had taken every single last toy out of his room and left only a couple of books to read. They had a long conversation and so did I and them we had one altogether. But you know what I don’t think he gets the seriousness of what he did. He wasn’t allowed to come out of his room other than meals and had to go to bed an hour early. He has had all electronics stripped from his possession and been told he will have zero technology time until we decide its ok.
I’m hoping this was some one time I lost my mind kind of thing. I am so shocked I don’t really even know what to do. Maybe over the weekend it will sink in as he is not allowed out of his room. I asked him when we get frustrated and angry what are we supposed to do and he responded tale a time out which is what we practice in home. But I just don’t know where this came from.
I should say this other kid did hit back so I know he wasn’t picking on a kid that didn’t fight back but with all the bully awareness I am slightly paranoid. Yikes, I am so unprepared for this! Help!

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Suspended.

  1. kbkstudios says:

    My first gut instinct is that one parent needs to sit down and have a quiet, loving conversation about what is appropriate behavior, and how to best control himself when he does feel this type of anger coming on. He IS just a child, so ganging up (both parents) can backfire with this kind of thing – in my experience.

Leave a Reply

