A school shooting too close to home.

I am posting this late but my mind still is reeling. The idea that a kid walked into school and shot another student in my home town is too much. I thought of all the different perspectives I could approach this post from but in the end I decided to just say what I can because it still has settled in and registered with me enough to focus on one thing.
When I opened my Facebook and saw the frantic “what happened at Taft high” posts I thought huh budget cuts must be hitting hard in the small town 20 minutes from my home. But then I saw the comment school shooting.

My mouth dropped and I searched for the remote for the tv to see if it was true. It was. Breaking news flashed across my screen and the words one shot another injured were heard and that was all I remember the news saying.

See I live just on the outskirts of Bakersfield. The last major highway before you hit country roads is Taft highway. If someone wanted to flee Taft and head to town or the major highway then my house and my kids school are on that way.
I immediately wanted to run and pick up Aiden. I wanted to grab him and call my boss and quit tell my hubs I’m staying home we are not going to participate in this madness anymore.
My brain overrode my emotions and I just say their frozen. I wanted to know it all. They said they had the shooter in custody but was there only 1? Are Bakersfield schools going on lock down? My mind was racing. I cried. I cried because this cannot be happening. Wasn’t Sandy Hook enough. Didn’t parents learn to lock up their guns, hide their ammo and talk to their kids about life and weapons, how to deal with the hardships of being a teen? How in the hell is this happening again?!!!!
My fear quickly became anger then fear then anger. I searched twitter and read every article even if it wasn’t anything new. Twitter pals tried to send comforting words and it helped but I’m still scared.
The press conference revealed a school system that had trained its teachers well. So well that the teacher involved was able to talk the shooter down and save the lives of his students.
There is so much speculation as to why. Bullying has been mentioned, emotional issues have been mentioned. In the end we may never know. I don’t know what the future holds for us but I hope this stops. I don’t pray a lot but I am praying, meditating, screaming for people to do all they can to stop this.

I don’t want my children to be raised in a world where school is not safe. Where they have to fear every loud noise and assume someone is shooting up their school when a car outside backfires.

I’m sure I will have more to say but today that’s all I got. That’s all I can say.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A school shooting too close to home.

  1. I really wanted to share this specific article, “A school
    shooting too close to home. | A Coffeeqween’s Life” together with my personal good friends on facebook .com. I personallyjust simply desired to disperse your very good writing! Regards, Kirsten

Leave a Reply

