Sometimes I Just Want to Scream!

Okay. I wasn’t going to say anything. I thought I see both sides of this coin and I get it, but I can’t. I want to scream at my phone and the tv every time I hear or read someone stating that kids can be taught to be perfect Angela at the rip old age of 1. Or that by not cleaning up after your kid is lazy. In case you have no idea what I’m talking about earlier this week a mother and her two children (ages 1 and 3) stopped in a local cafe in some town outside Seattle, Washington. Her children are a scone and left crumbs in the floor. The owner proceeded to tell the woman that if she couldn’t control her kids they wouldn’t be allowed in the cafe again. Then the owner puts a picture of the mess in the floor and says thank you to our customers whose children behave and don’t make a mess in our cafe, on Facebook. The mother being a fan of the local cafe saw this and was ashamed because she wasn’t lazy or rude. In fact she tipped well and explained the scones were extra crumbly today.

Now this has turned into this whole mess of kids shouldn’t be allowed in restaurants because parents are too lazy to teach manners. First of all I saw this pic (it’s on yahoo) and the mess wasn’t bad at all. Nothing was smashed or smeared into the ground. A DustBuster or light sweeping would have cleared it up. Second of all the baby was 1!!!! No matter how hard that mom tried or how perfectly behaved that 1 year old is there would be crumbs. Third scones are crumbly and I can’t eat one without getting crumbs all over myself! Fourth that business owner had every right to tell the mom that they are not kid friendly and would like her to come back without her kids next time. It’s her right her business, whatever. Fifth(ly?) she did NOT however exercise good judgment, customer service or compassion when she put that mom in blast on Facebook.

No parent or child is perfect. Shit and crumbs happen. Callen is loud- seriously loud. He screams when he is happy, sad, mad, or wants something. He is the 3rd boy and has learned to be loud to ensure his opinion is heard. This does not make me lazy or a bad parent. Sometimes he is silent. I never know what’s going to happen when we go out. But rest assured the louder the restaurant the louder the baby!

I have left a restaurant because he was being so loud. He is 1. He doesn’t understand or know what a restaurant is. Hell I’m Mexican, he probably just thinks we are with our extended family eating dinner!! The point of this is that we must we judge all parents. Yes there are some who don’t care but I am not one of those parents and neither was this lady who was shamed in her own town for having children who behaved perfectly fine in public but happened to leave some crumbs! I would never dream if taking my kids to a fancy schmancy place but a family oriented reataurant ( please note a restaurant with a kids menu or kids eat free night is a family restaurant) we are there. If you do not have kids or don’t want to be around other people’s kids then I suggest don’t go to restaurants that cater to families. And parents too your waiter/waitress extra because they are going to have to have some poor busboy come clean up after your kid and then need some tip love too.

But I am tired of this kids should be perfect ideal and his whole judging of parents. Some of us are doing all that we can and we sometimes have slip ups. Instead of being docks about it and rolling your eyes or staring have a little compassion. I promise your insensitivity only makes me want to stay longer.

About thecoffeeqween

I am a 30 something year old mom, wife, and lover of all things coffee and tea. I have two kick ass boys, a hubs who looks like Collin Ferrell, and a killer job as a store manager for Starbucks. Follow me as I juggle it all downing espresso, raising boys and learning to be happy with what I got!
This entry was posted in MommyTalk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sometimes I Just Want to Scream!

  1. Girl, being a partner shows us daily that we are surrounded by crumbly scones and pastries daily. I’d like to see this shop owner manage a Bux for one freaking day. She couldn’t do it.
    A scone?? Pfftt. That’s nothing, sweetheart.

  2. Alaina says:

    Dude, Aubrey is nothing but messy when we go out. She’s 18 mos old and teaching herself to eat, so of course it goes everywhere. I always apologize to our servers and tip well, but seriously….that manager was out of line. There is absolutely no way in hell you can teach a 1 year old to eat neatly. Or be quiet in a restaurant. It’s just not possible.

    I’ll scream along with you.

    • I’m so glad I’m not alone. Reading comments on Facebook and other bloggers made me so upset that I decided to write about it. People who claim their kids are perfect in public are liars!!

  3. I don’t even have children (yet lol) and I was upset when I heard about this story! I know I wasn’t at the café but this business really was out of line for putting this woman on blast for absolutely no reason. The owner had every right to tell her to leave or whatever (even that is a little iffy for me) but they had absolutely no reason to basically shame the customer! Just terrible!

Leave a Reply

